Documents Section Overview
The Documents section contains all of the files that have been prepared for you by your accountant(s) as well as any documents that you have uploaded to TaxDome (i.e. the documents that were requested by your accountant, such as W-2 forms, previous returns, etc.). Once you have paid your invoice, you can download all of the documents that have been prepared for you, review them, sign, and either approve or reject them.
From the Documents section you can:
- Upload your documents to the TaxDome system.
- Rename, move, preview, delete, and download your previously uploaded documents.
- Use folders to organize any files that you have sent to your accountant.
- Preview and download documents prepared by your firm.
- Sign documents prepared for you by your accountant.
- Approve documents prepared for you by your accountant.
When you have a green badge next to the Documents icon in the sections list:
- If it contatins a number—it means that you have documents that need your action to be performed. The number on the badge indicates the number of documents with actions requested.
- If it blank—it means that you have unread documents uploaded by your accountant
This section consists of two main blocks— Waiting for action and Documents.
Documents that require to be signed or approved by you are placed in the Waiting for action block:
Note that when all required actions are performed, this block disappears until your accountant request any more actions from you.
The Documents block contain three subtabs:
- Recent subtab. Here you will find the last 50 documents that have been:
- uploaded by your accountant.
- sent to you by your accountant to sign or to approve.
- locked by your accountant.
- uploaded by you.
- opened by you.
- signed by you.
- approved or disapproved by you.
- Folders subtab. It contains top-level folders created by your firm with different visibility/permissions:
- Client can view and edit: documents that were uploaded to TaxDome by you or by your preparer. You can delete these or move them to different folders
- Client can view: documents that are shared with you by your firm. You can see them, but you can’t delete or manage them.
In the Folders subtab, the following information is available:
- NAME: This isthe document’s name and it has a file-type icon next to it.
- DATE UPLOADED: This is when the document was uploaded.
- UPLOADED BY: Within all folders with Client can view permission level, you’ll see the name of the firm member who uploaded it.
- DESCRIPTION: Descriptions are optional, so one may be available if the person who uploaded the document provided one.
- PENDING PAYMENT: The document is locked and awaiting payment of the linked invoice
- PENDING APPROVAL: The document is awaiting your approval.
- APPROVED: The document has your approval.
- DISAPPROVED: Thedocument was rejected by you.
- PENDING SIGNATURE: The document is awaiting your e-signature.
- SIGNED: All users of the account the document is for have signed it.
- PARTIALLY SIGNED: At least one user of the account the document is for have declined to sign it.
- DECLINED SIGNATURE: All users of the account the document is for have declined to sign it.
- SEALED: Your accountant has the option to seal documents. Once a document is sealed, you cannot delete, edit, or move it to another folder.
- Trash subtab. Documents you have deleted on TaxDome, go to the Trash location. The file stays there for 30 days until it’s permanently deleted. Files that were deleted from a folder with Client can view and edit permission by your accountant are also available in the Trash for 120 days.
To restore a document placed in the Trash location, click on the three dots icon to the far right of the document’s name, then click Restore.